Election: Antrim count waiting on transfer votes

Have your say

Counting is continuing for the first new councillor to be elected to the new Antrim and Newtownabbey super council.

Stages one and two of the counting for Antrim DEA have been completed with no one meeting the required quota.

Alliance’s Sian O’Neill and NI21’s George Young were eliminated after stage one with their transferred votes being counted.

Stage two saw no one still meeting the required quota of 849 votes.

Currenty Deputy Mayor of Antrim, Brian Graham, was subsequently eliminated with his transfer votes now to be counted.

Of the 14,408 people eligible to vote, a total of 6,040 votes were cast, a turn out of 41.92 per cent.

One-hundred-and-one of these votes were invalid meaning a valid poll of 5,939.

Back to the top of the page